Terrific Tuesday?

I’m sad to say that this Tuesday really hasn’t been entirely terrific. In fact, it started out being mostly everything but terrific. As much as I love to pump up the good things, I think it’s equally important to be frank about the crummy ones.

Exhibit A: I woke up at 4AM and my allergies refused to let me go back to sleep. That brings my grand sleep total for last night to 4.5 hours. Using the oats I spilled trying to make oatmeal, my fingers, and the calculator app on my phone, I was able to determine that this is much less than the recommended 8 hours for a happy adult, and the recommended 9 hours for a happy Joy.

Exhibit B: We noticed Eva’s been having some problems with her ears and needed to go to the vet, pronto. She’s scratching like it’s going out of style, and we were really concerned that she was going to get infections from some scary-looking scratches. Of course, being sleep-deprived only made my reaction to this news better.

Exhibit C:I’m cranky and grumpy and tired. I haven’t been feeling 100% lately both in the physical and emotion arenas, so dealing with Exhibits A and B just brought me down further. I snapped at FH and was generally unpleasant to be around.

After feeling sorry for myself for a bit, I realized that I really needed to snap myself out of my funk. This isn’t a blah Monday or an underwhelming Thursday – no, this is Terrific Tuesday! I reasoned with myself that everything that had happened could be overcome. I was not dead, the Earth didn’t stop turning, and the aliens hadn’t invaded. The day could still be saved. So I stood up and proclaimed to all of my apartment:

“I will not be deterred. Terrific Tuesday will happen!”

So here’s what made my Tuesday truly, truthfully terrific:

1. Exciting Education

I’m at that point where I’m really being serious about what I want to do for the rest of my life. I’m lucky to have the benefit of working in a variety of areas in the past, as well as my current job, to teach me what does and doesn’t work for me, and what I do and don’t find interesting. All this is leading me to answer the question “What do I want to do with my life?” I’m trying to focus on my passions, and really listen to the advice that you should do what you love. Two things I really love are sustainability and teaching, and I’ve found several Master’s programs in Environmental Education – right up my alley. It was a really heartening find during this morning’s 4AM insomnia fest.

2. Scrumptious Smoothie

I had to perk up this morning, and as much as they say you shouldn’t do this, I was not in the mood to listen to conventional wisdom (see Exhibit C above). I definitely made myself feel better with food:

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 2/3 c. unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 tbsp Naturally Nutty toffee peanut butter (which I cannot say enough good things about, even being cranky and grumpy)
  • 1/2 tablespoon cocoa powder

This smoothie definitely put a smile on my face. It reminded me of being little and having bad dreams. I’d crawl into my parent’s bed and, after dramatically telling them about my scary slumber, Mom would make me chocolate milk and a grilled cheese sandwich. It didn’t happen all the time, but when it did, man, no monster under my bed could compete. This felt like the grown-up version, and it worked just the same.

3. Content Cat

We called the vet’s office to explain what was going on with Eva, and they were able to fit her into the rotation for today. I was bummed I couldn’t go due to some work meetings, but I was still happy FH could take her. At one point during the appointment, I looked down at my phone and saw this adorable pic:

That’s Eva, waiting patiently for the vet to come back in. Notice she settled herself on the chair, like she’s a person or something.

FH let me know that, though she was still dealing with allergies (an ongoing ordeal that even the vet says we can only manage at this point), Eva was given a few shots and a clean bill of health. Ear issues? None she could see. Those scary looking scratches? Only surface level, and they were already starting to heal. I let out a huge breath that I had been holding in all day – Eva being okay meant that the day was truly a terrific one.

4. Perfect Pizza

My day ended with a work dinner at a new restaurant in town. This one has had everyone all abuzz because it’s a completely farm-to-table establishment, started by one of the most popular farms in the area. (It’s the Trillium Haven Restaurant, for anyone out there in the Grand Rapids area.) Good company, a fun atmosphere, and this delicious pizza really helped:

A mix of roasted tomatoes, pesto, vinaigrette and a light mozzarella meant I was in artsy pizza heaven. I wanted to shovel the whole thing down my gullet…but I knew I needed to make up for being such a Jerky McJerkerFace to a certain someone:

He loved it. I love that he loved it. And Eva happily snoozed away as we enjoyed a much nicer evening than the morning which had preceded it.

I was nervous for awhile that this post would be nothing but me griping about how my day had been less than perfect – it surely was the least terrific of all my terrific Tuesdays thus far. But you know what? I’d like to revise my earlier statement at the beginning of this post about today not being so terrific. Sure, I had my fair share of difficulties, but at the end of the day, I’m home and safe, with a loving FH, a full tummy, and a healthy cat.

As far as Tuesdays go, I don’t really know how much more terrific it can get.

One thought on “Terrific Tuesday?

  1. Pingback: Terrific Tuesday: Foodie Fun! | The Joy Vey

Share your comment!

