Very Vacation

Greetings from the Sunshine State!

I’ve always been a fan of vacation – and really, who isn’t? It feels different to be on vacation now that I’m working versus in school. With school, those spring, summer, and winter breaks felt like the system’s way of saying “Great job! Here’s your reward: a week of sleeping in.” Now, I feel like I really earn vacations, but I have to be the one to step up and say that I need or want one. It’s a great lesson in listening to yourself, and taking time when you need it.

I’m currently visiting my parents’ house, which is not only lovely, but also the bar I’ve set for any and all future homes I live in. With this view, can you blame me?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I get to see my family about twice a year, and I love that I can vacation and relax while still catching up with the day-to-day of things back in my old homestead. I’ve finally come to admit that I don’t really live here anymore – I have a room, I have some things, but really, I’m just visiting, not necessarily “returning.” Sometimes it’s bittersweet, but I love knowing how far I’ve come and all I’ve done in the time since I called this place home. Even better, it’s always open for me to come back to.

Every trip home is full of surprises. I have two already! The first was seeing some manatees off the seawall yesterday morning. There were two or three, and they were lazily making their way along the river, munching on sea grasses.

That gray bump in the water – almost right in the middle of the picture? Manatee snout! They’re such fun animals.

The other surprise was finding this young red mangrove – the seed has wedged itself in the lower seawall, and it’s growing pretty well! I wonder if it will be able to actually mature here. Doubtful, I know, but it would be really neat to see!

I hope you’re all having a great day, and that it’s full of fun surprises too!

One thought on “Very Vacation

  1. Pingback: Meatless Monday: Veggie Taco Filling | The Joy Vey

Share your comment!

