Mixed Up, Chilled Out

Lately, life has been hectic. Really hectic. Like, learning-a-new-language-more-work-than-ever-dear-lord-bf’s-mom-is-staying-with-us-for-two-weeks-and-we-only-have-a-one-bedroom-apartment hectic. I have never needed a vacation more than I do now, and unfortunately, that vacation is still several weeks off. Don’t get me wrong, I’m thankful I have the opportunity to take a week off and go visit my family in the Sunshine State, but I think we all understand that feeling of needing something RIGHT. NOW., but we know that’s not happening.

As a result, I’ve been trying to do as many vacation-like things as possible:

  • I wear a robe in the morning (though I ignore it’s not supremely fluffy or hotel-style).
  • I’ve begun serving myself tea in the spirit of “tea time,” minus setting out milk and sugar, as I’ve yet to find dishes for these that I love
  • I went to the beach!

Image

Being spoiled and from the real beach (read: the one with the ocean), going to the lake shore was surprisingly rejuvenating. Most of the beaches around here are stuffed to the gills with people, screaming kids and obnoxious teenagers. For some, that’s what a beach is, and that’s just fine. For me, the beach has always been about relaxation, or at least the possibility of relaxation barring any sandcastle building contests. So when I heard about a small family beach only a slightly farther drive from the throngs o’ people beach I’m usually directed toward, bf and I loaded up the car for an afternoon of sun and relaxing.

Image

One other, very important element to this pseudo-vacation aura I’m trying to pull off? Mixed drinks.

Yessir.

Since I don’t drink a ton of alcohol, I’m always trying to find new and different mix-ins to toss into my blender. Frozen bananas? Classic. Yogurt? An old standby. Brewed tea? Well, don’t mind if I do.

It was after a particularly grueling day that I stumbled into my kitchen, threw open the refrigerator door, and proclaimed to absolutely no one that I needed a drink. After surveying the contents of the fridge, I settled on almond milk, ice, and…nothing. Hm. I backed up to where my coffee and tea normally hang out, and I remembered I had a small stockpile of delicious mint tea. My overwhelmed brain managed to add everything together to get:

Image

Mint Tea Chiller

Makes one large, much needed glass

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup milk (almond, coconut, soy, or whatever your preference)
  • 5-6 ice cubes
  • 1 1/2 cup brewed mint tea, cooled
  • 1 tsp. sweetener, such as honey or sugar (optional)
  • Cinnamon, for garnishing

Directions:

  1. Blend everything except cinnamon together in a high speed blender until desired consistency is reached. Pour into a tall glass and garnish with cinnamon.
  2. Sit back and moan, swearing never to do work again*

*This feeling may be temporary.

Image

Instant vacation feeling. Cool, frothy, and just a touch of sweet, I imagined myself sitting on the deck of some fabulous hotel, with nary a laptop or house guest in sight. I know there will be many, many more of these in the future. I may even make them on my actual vacation. You know, for kicks.

Any vacation-esque activities out there I missed? What are your favorite items to throw in the blender? And, most importantly: any recommendations for cream and sugar containers?

2 thoughts on “Mixed Up, Chilled Out

Share your comment!

