Check!

Woke up feeling refreshed, amazed at my continued existence, and the ability to experience this gift of life?

Check.

Fed the cat, brewed some tea, spent some leisurely time reading other blogs?

Check.

Made dessert for my dinner party while folding two day old laundry on a conference call planning a major presentation, kissing BF good morning and goodbye while scraping burnt egg from a pan and realizing that my first dessert attempt sucked terribly and I had to make a new one pronto?

That's a face you want to wake up to every morning.

Oof! And check.

I wanted to try a twist on a pumpkin cake for my dinner tonight, so I attempted to create my own recipe: mini pumpkin cakes with chocolate chips.

They looked great, they tasted great, they smelled great…

…and they would make great rock replacements. I texted BF at work and asked “Does anyone need a paperweight? Or a doorstop? I have 24.”

Needless to say, I was bummed. My morning filled with little “checks” suddenly had a big fat empty space where “make delicious revolutionary dessert” was supposed to be marked off. In hindsight, had I put “make rocks” or “invent industrial strength weight,” I would have checked those off with a flourish.

Normally, I would have hidden this failure entirely. I would have pretended as if perfectly tasting (and weighing) baked goods simply fly out of my kitchen at warp speed on a regular basis. I would have skimmed over this mishap in favor of broadcasting, loud and clear, a new, successful recipe. But today, in honor of embracing the experience of life, all the experiences, including failure, I’m sharing it with you.

I did manage to make a good dessert, and share it with my friends. It was not fancy. It was not whipped up with ease from gourmet items just lying around my kitchen. It was chocolate chip cookies.

I wish I could give you the recipe, but that belongs to Robin Robinson, and can be found in her book 1,000 Vegan Recipes, which I talked about here. What I can give you, however, is the best recipe I’ve found for dealing with those moments of unexpected results, of less than stellar outcomes. Of, quite simply, failure.

Oy to Joy

Ingredients:

  • A sense of humor
  • Forgiveness
  • Acceptance
  • Laughter
  • Bravery
  • Gumption

Directions:

  1. Admit that you failed. Accept that it happened, that it happened before, and will happen again. It’s okay – and all a part of the process!
  2. Forgive yourself. No one is perfect. That’s the beauty of life.
  3. Laugh at yourself when you deserve it. Mix with a generous sense of humor, and the failure can turn into an enjoyable experience (much like, dare I say, this blog post?)
  4. Go forward with bravery. Have the gumption to try again tomorrow. Or, if your dinner party is in a few hours, now!

Behind every mountain of success lies a valley filled with failures. But without those failures, reaching the top of the mountain wouldn’t be as sweet.

The chocolate chip cookies were simple and delicious. On their own, they’re perfect: slightly sweet, chocolatey, and very chewy. But they’re at their best when shared with company. And really, isn’t the point of all good food, the very best part of slaving over a hot oven and millions of mixing bowls, is getting to share it with those you love?

That’s something I’ll check on my list.

With all that being said, I don’t plan on deviating from my cookbooks for awhile 🙂

 

Had an amazing day where I experienced life to the fullest, enjoyed each moment for what it was, and was in awe of all the wonderful things I can be grateful for – friends, food, and love?

Check.

——-

Whew! It’s been a couple o’ serious posts up in here. Let’s try something lighter tomorrow, shall we? Current forecasts indicate that Joy will be making vegan pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving…stay tuned!

6 thoughts on “Check!

  1. Pingback: Crazy Thankful « The Joy Vey

    • I love how you call it The Blob – I think a baking horror film could totally happen! “And now, we present… ‘Mixing up Tablespoons with Teaspoons!’ AHHHH!

      Thanks for stopping by and sharing 🙂

      • I like that. And the best thing about a baking horror film is that it would be based on the truth. I really like your blog – I’m vegetarian, Jewish and my cats run my house so this is right up my alley. Let me know what you think of my blog if you get the chance (it’s still in its infancy).

Share your comment!

