An Aww-inspiring Post

Happy Sunday, everyone!

I hope your weekend was relaxing, and filled with fun, friends, and all good things weekends can bring. Mine was chock-full of friends, good food, quality time with the BF, and some much needed new nail polish.

It's called "Rain Check" and I'm in love.

Today, though, I got something else that was much needed, and more meaningful than nail polish.

I can always count on our Sunday school students to think up something that makes me stop and think. Of course, this is usually punctuated with “When’s snack?” and “How much longer?” Today, however, there were so many wonderful moments, moments which made me remember why I love teaching.

We were talking about Thanksgiving and the importance of hikarat hatov, or recognizing the good, the things in our lives that bring joy, happiness, and peace. We challenged the students to really think about what they were thankful for. For every student present, each one had something touching and thoughtful to say. I loved the little girl who mentioned veterans, and how she was thankful for their service so she could be free; another mentioned that she was thankful for having the ability to be thankful. Many spoke of being thankful for shelter, for food in their bellies, and for caring people in their lives.

I couldn’t help it: I choked up. In a world so dominated by the now, the superficial, and the monetary, the fact that a small group of 4th graders could bring forth something so meaningful, so personal, and so thoughtful made me feel as if I was the one being taught. Cliched as it may sound, it gave me a glimmer of hope for a wonderful future.

It’s got me thinking (and dare I say, almost waxing poetic) about what I’m thankful for this season. I’m just as guilty as anyone of getting too caught up in drama, politics, and the eternal question of “Oh crap, what am I bringing to Thanksgiving dinner?!” I’m so thankful our rambunctious little group of students made me pause, if only for the morning.

This Thanksgiving, I promise to be more thoughtful, to think about the things in life that are blessings, blessings I overlook a little too often. I will follow hikarat hatov, and recognize the good in my life and the world around me. I think, honestly, that’s one of the biggest things I’m thankful for: the ability to stop, the luxury to think, the discipline to ponder the bigger questions, and the opportunity to savor all the wonderful things I’ve been truly blessed with.

Okay, I’ve shown you mine, now show me yours!

Your turn: What are you thankful for this season?

One thought on “An Aww-inspiring Post

  1. Pingback: A Little Too Much Oy « The Joy Vey

Share your comment!

