No Lie

Sometimes, I am full of exaggerations and jokes. Today, I am not. No lie.

1. I had three readers visit my page! Three! Welcome! And I thank you by not posting for two days. I am a jerk (and I wish I was lying).

2.BF is still sick. Very, very sick. We spent 3 1/2 hours at the clinic on Monday, and he is on bed rest until further notice.

3. In an effort to make BF Feel better, I made Potato Leek Soup.

Spud buds - stripped of their dignity

Leeky love

Unfortunately, it wasn’t that remarkable, and you should be happy that I forgot to write down the recipe. Fortunately, BF has no taste buds at the moment, and he thought it was delicious (and I accused him of lying…bad girlfriend).

4. In an effort to make up to my co-workers that I had to throw my responsibilities out the window for a day, I made them cookies. Delicious, chewy, chocolatey cookies.

No lie.

Joy’s “I’m Really Sorry, Co-workers” Cookies (AKA Peanut Butter Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies)

I don't have a picture of the finished cookies...but here's the finished PLATE. That good, people.

Makes 14 – 20 small sized cookies

Ingredients

  • 2 Tbsp. + 2 tsp. applesauce (can use an oil like canola, as well, depending on your preferences)
  • 1 Tbsp. peanut butter (or another type of nut butter)
  • 1/2 c. sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 3/4 c. flour
  • 1/3 c. cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 – 1/2 c. vegan chocolate chips (depending on how chocolatey you want them!)
  • 2/3 to 1 c. soy milk (you can use regular milk as well – just be aware that the cookies will no longer be vegan or parve if you do)

Favorite PB. No hydrogenated oils - just peanuts and salt!

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°. Lightly grease a baking pan and set aside.
  2. In a medium bowl, combine the applesauce (or oil), peanut butter, sugar, and vanilla extract. Mix until smooth.
  3. In a separate large bowl, combine the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt.
  4. Add the wet ingredients to the dry – the dough will be crumbly and you’ll be doubting my sanity. It’s ok – I promise!
  5. Add the milk to the dough 1/3 c. at a time. Depending on the ingredients you used, you may need more or less milk. You know you’ve hit the right consistency when the dough can be easily scooped using a fork or spoon, but is NOT runny.
  6. Now comes the exciting part – fold in your chocolate chips.

    Makes life worth living

  7. Scoop dough by the spoonful onto your baking sheet. Bake 15 – 18 minutes, until cookie tops have set. Remove and allow to cook thoroughly before transferring to storage*

*You can skip this last part if transferring cookies directly to mouth 🙂

The cookies were a hit with the coworkers, and I hope they are for you, too. Or maybe you three lovely people who clicked over to check me out? (Hint, hint)

The rest of this week will, hopefully, not be so crazy. I’ll do my best to be back with more posts, jokes, and perhaps even a non-cookie recipe. There will also be an awwww-inspiring post coming along this weekend. So stick around! I can say that, whether three or three hundred readers, I’ll always do my best for you.

And that’s no lie.

One thought on “No Lie

  1. Pingback: BFFs « The Joy Vey

Share your comment!

