So Long, Sunday!

I just wrote this post, and somehow accidentally deleted this. If this is a sign for the week to come, I’m crawling in bed until Friday at 5pm.

Sunday around these parts = Sunday School. The BF and I teach 4th and 5th grade at our local temple, and most weeks, it’s a great gig. A majority of the kids are really awesome; the rest are a little mischievous, but cute enough to get away with it. When I first started teaching, I envisioned myself being like Hilary Swank in Freedom Writers, or Laura Dern in October Sky, an amazing teacher encouraging my students to soar above and beyond anyone’s expectations, to love learning and build rockets. Theoretical rockets, of course.

Unfortunately, the BF has been sick all week, so no Sunday School for him. It was scary walking into class today, having only BF’s meticulously crafted lesson plans and a Panera asiago cheese bagel to shield myself. Luckily, everything went well, and I left feeling pretty swanky.

Why yes, I always wear backless dresses to teach Sunday School. Don’t you?

The nice thing about Sunday School is that, even if I don’t do a darn thing for the rest of the day, I still feel accomplished. One thing I was successful in doing (aside from making my students literary geniuses or rocket scientists) was indulging in some pumpkin pie cookies – my first semi-legit recipe. I say “semi-legit” because I used part of a cookie recipe from Robin Robinson’s ingenious cookbook 1,000 Vegan Recipes. I highly recommend this for anyone looking to prepare vegan fare – recipes cover all areas of the menu, are clear and uncomplicated, and most importantly, delicious.

Seriously. Buy this. And tell Robin I love her. The restraining order prevents me from doing so myself.

As a bonus, if you keep Kosher, vegan can be parve, as it has no meat or dairy whatsoever. Easy for holidays, potlucks, and anywhere else you need to be food-attentive. So – about those cookies!

Vegan Pumpkin Pie Cookies

Makes 14 – 18 cookies, depending on how big you make them.

Ingredients:

  • 1 c. vegan margarine, softened, NOT melted*
  •  1/4 plus 2 tbsp. light brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 3/8 c. pumpkin (I used Libby’s canned pumpkin – it has a cult following for a reason, people)
  • 1 1/2 c. flour
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, plus more for dusting if desired
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon

*Though tempting to melt margarine for easy mixing, for the love of G-d and all things holy, don’t do this. Your cookies won’t be amazing, the texture will be off, and I’ll be forced to say “I told you so.” And then I will give you a cookie.

Preparation:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°. Lightly grease a baking sheet and set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, cream together the margarine and light brown sugar until fluffy.
  3. Resist urge to sit on the couch, eat this by the forkful, and call it a day.
  4. Add pumpkin and vanilla, mixing until smooth.
  5. In a separate bowl, combine your dry ingredients. Gradually add the dry ingredients to the wet, mixing gently and until just combined                                                                                                                 
  6. Scoop out dough by the tablespoon and place on your baking sheet. Adjust your size based on how big you want your cookies to be, how many you want to make, and how much dough you ate along the way (guilty).
  7. Dust with additional nutmeg, if desired.
  8. Bake 10-12 minutes, until cookies have puffed up and edges are starting to brown. Remove and allow to cool.

Mmm. Light and fluffy, these made my kitchen smell like fall. The fall that is rapidly being replaced by winter. For those that like a sweeter cookie, I’d recommend a simple royal icing by combining powdered sugar and a touch of soy, almond, or coconut milk (if you want to keep these vegan and parve). BF is not a big sweet fan (the horror), so any baking I’d like him to try, I tone the sweetness down.

With that, I am off to bed. Let me know if you try the cookies – I’d love to hear your feedback!

One thought on “So Long, Sunday!

  1. Pingback: Check! « The Joy Vey

Share your comment!

